End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Contents:

About Arqus

The University of Graz builds together with the University of Granada (Spain), the University of Bergen (Norway), Leipzig University (Germany), the University of Lyon (France), the University of Padova (Italy) and Vilnius University (Lithuania) the ARQUS European University Alliance. The aim of the Alliance is to foster its cooperation in research, teaching, administration and social commitment and, thus, to contribute to the excellence and attractiveness of the European higher education area. The Alliance was granted with a Erasmus+ funding of 5 Million Euros by the European Commission in June 2019.
On 1 October 2019, the Alliance started with its work plan of three years which includes the implementation of 63 activities which are distributed among eight action lines.

The seven founder members – the Universities Granada, Bergen, Graz, Leipzig, Lyon (Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3, Université Jean Monnet at Saint-Etienne), Padova and Vilnius – bring together nearly 310.000 students and 40.000 staff members. Each university has not only a leading role in European projects and internationalisation processes, but also an important part in the regional development at the respective locations.

The Alliance’s name stems from the Latin term arcus/arquus, for arch, representing the strong foundations the consortium is laying for building bridges toward a shared future, to respond to the grand global societal challenges and to advance towards deeper European integration.


ARQUS Project Coordination
Mozartgasse 12/III
8010 Graz

Contact person
  • Mag.
    Maria Heinemann
    Phone:+43 (0)316 380 - 3929
  • Mag.
    Victoria Reszler
    Phone:+43 (0)316 380 - 1071

End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Additional information:

End of this page section.